• Section 6 Introduction

     |  Three Branches of Government

    Section 6 Introduction Publius moves in The Federalist's second half to explain the separation of powers and the three branches of government: Congress, including the House (52 to 58) and the Senate (62 to 66), the presidency (67 to 77), and the judiciary (78-83). In response to the Anti-Federalist demand for a more responsive government, Publius teaches us a lesson about the true meaning of "responsibility." Good government is not defined by its responsiveness to popular demands, but is responsible to the true, long-term interests of the people. In other words, it protects their natural rights. In his attempt to heal the American body politic, Publius here offers a strong dose of political moderation. A government that is responsive to every popular whim suffers from the ...
Display by
Items 1-1 of 1